Today I bought 7 new books aka I was very bad today!

After living out of a suitcase for 4 years – for those of you who might not know, I travelled all over the UK for work, which meant that I was moving to a new location roughly every 4-6 weeks. At the time I did not have a base, so everything I owned had to fit into 2 suitcases, which I dragged around the UK on the trains. I got into the habit of buying and reading a book, passing it on, then buying a new one & doing the same. I had to do this because my suitcases were so full if I bought something new, something old had to come out. There simply wasn’t any room for anything else. That meant that, out of necessity, I couldn’t buy a lot of books all at once.

I now have  my own place & plenty of extra space for books, but for some reason that habit has remained. As I was saying to a friend only last night, it’s actually a habit I don’t want to get out of. Don’t get me wrong, I love books & I love buying books, but I have discovered that I am uncomfortable with buying books for the sake of buying books, as in buying books because I like them and want to read them, but buying so many that I never get around to reading them.

On the book forum I belong to everyone, except me it seems, has a tbr pile (to be read).  I think it’s cool that these people have so many books (some of them have admitted to having a pile of books to be read numbering in the 40’s & 50’s (or higher). While I think it’s nice to have choice (& for some people a lot of choice) I think it’s kinda sad that all those books are sitting there waiting to be read. Someone on that same forum mentioned an image that they had of their books standing on the bookshelf, waving their arms (if books had arms!) shouting “pick me, pick me!!!!” – funny image, but kinda sad.

Please don’t misunderstand me, I am in no way saying that I think people shouldn’t have TBR piles – to each their own & whatever works for them, but it’s not for me. So………….that said, why oh why did I go out & buy 7 books today? My bad! Must not happen again!

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Relaxing reading

One response to “Today I bought 7 new books aka I was very bad today!

  1. Pingback: The Shakespeare Secret by J.L. Carrell « Ceinwenn’s book ramblings

Leave a Reply

