The Rosary Girls ~ by Richard Montanari

the-rosary-girlsI finished The Rosary Girls on Tuesday night & while I initially struggled with this book (I really don’t know why, but I struggled with the first couple of chapters) once I got to the part where they introduced the female detective I got hooked & thank god for that because I HAD to like this book, lol 🙂 . I mentioned in an earlier post about the World Book Day book swap that was taking place on the Book Club Forum & this was the book I received, which was from my dear friend, Charm. She loved it & I didn’t want to let her down, so I had to love it!

The Rosary Girls is about a serial killer who is targeting Catholic School girls. Each of the girls he kills is mutilated, posed, their hands bolted together  & has a rosary in her grasp. The story follows Kevin Byrne & his rookie partner Jessica Balzano as they try to track down the depraved man who’s committing these horrible acts of violence. Kevin & Jessica are really well written & compliment each other very well. I have to admit, I expected to hate the character Kevin, but found myself warming to him, then rooting for him to solve the crime!

There are a few surprising twists that shocked the heck out of me!  I was not expecting the ending, for the killer to be who it turned out to be & I certainly never expected the connection the killer had to his last victim (or attempted victim). There was what, to me at least, seemed to be a vein in the book that was leading me to believe that the killer was someone incredibly close to Jessica & while it turned out it wasn’t, it did leave me wondering what had been the point of this particular thought process in the book. (though perhaps I am the only person who thought she saw a killer where it turned out there was none, with regards to this person) Who knows? Must remember to ask Charm if she had ever thought this person was the killer!

ANYWAY!!!! In short, I did love this book – the writing is great & once I got past my initial resistance (still no idea what caused that!), the book flowed & I found myself wishing I had only another hour to keep reading every time I picked up this book! So, to Charm, I thank you for introducing me to  Kevin & Jessica & I shall be buying The Skin Gods very soon! Thanks Charm!

1 Comment

Filed under Relaxing reading

One response to “The Rosary Girls ~ by Richard Montanari

  1. Great review Ceinwenn! I’m so glad you liked this book! No idea why you struggled with the first couple of chapters either but I’m so pleased it came through for you lol.
    Charm xo

Leave a Reply

