Dexter in the Dark ~ by Jeff Lindsay

Dexter in the DarkDexter in the Dark is the third installment in the Dexter series (of which the TV series is loosely based). I have read the first two books & loved them, but have to admit that I was more than a little wary about reading this one, as I had heard a few bad things about it. I needn’t have worried quite so much! This was by no means Mr. Lindsay’s best novel to date – the second in the series was far & away the best so far. The second book had me hooked, unable to put it down &  it had me laughing out loud in so many places. This book made me chuckle, and I really enjoyed reading it, but it just wasn’t as good as the previous offering.

There was nothing overtly wrong with this book, but it just didn’t live up to Dearly Devoted Dexter. This books sees Dexter lose his Dark Passenger after attending a murder scene where a couple of bodies are found in gruesome circumstances. The rest of the book is centred around Dexter trying to find what has made his Dark Passenger disappear, while preparing for his upcoming wedding & trying to figure out how he is going to keep up his hobby if/when his Dark Passenger returns, while being the “upstanding married man citizen” he is trying to make people believe he is.

Dexter in the Dark , while not as good a read as Dearly Devoted Dexter, it still made me laugh out loud in places & chuckle in others, just not as much as I had hoped, based on the previous offering. If you have read the first two books & have heard bad reviews about this one, I would say – don’t listen to the reviews, just read the book & judge for yourself. I read it & have no regrets about having done so.

Leave a comment

Filed under Relaxing reading

Leave a Reply

