Am I strange?

My favourite genre of books is the Thriller, or “Murder Mystery Mayhem”, as I like to call it. This is what I read the most & I have my definite favourites, including Jeffery Deaver (the man is a genius!), Kathy Reichs & Linda Fairstein, to name but a few. Now, the reason I ask the above question is this:

I would say that 90 % of the time when I read a thriller, I start at the beginning (always a good place to start 🙂 ) & read until I really get into the book, then this irresistible force seems to take me over & I have this undeniable need to read the final few chapters to see what happens! It’s an unstoppable force & when the urge surfaces, I always give in! Resistance, as they say, is futile!

I know, I know – this is sooooooooo wrong. Or, at least that is what everyone tells me (the rare few I have been brave enough to reveal my hideous secret to , at least!).  They insist that I am ruining the book, that OBVIOUSLY the idea of this particular genre especially, is to keep you in suspense, keep you guessing what is going to happen, to as close to the end of the book as possible. So, by skipping forward & reading the ending before I have read the middle, I am destroying what the author has created. But am I really?

I know that I am far from alone in this despicable habit, but I have to be honest & tell you that it is not a habit I intend to break. I love reading the beginning & the end first, then tucking into the middle (hmmmm, Mom, if you’re reading this does this remind you of anything from my childhood? Maybe my teachers were right!). To me at least, the middle of the book is the best bit. The beginning & the end are just (to compare a book to a sandwich) the bread & the middle is the lovely chicken salad filling.  The beginning & the end are almost irrelevant & to me, there is no greater feeling than knowing who the killer is, a few chapters into a book (not by figuring it out, but by reading it), then spending the rest of the book trying to guess how in heaven’s name the author is going to get you there. That’s what I love!

So, while I may be strange, I have no intention of changing & besides, who says that you lot who read a book cover to cover aren’t the strange ones? lmao!

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Am I strange?

  1. I do it all the time, I try, I really do but every single time I end up feeling possessed and simply have to check the final 5 pages (otherwise the option would be keep reading until exhaustion overcomes me).
    I have no self control whatsoever when it comes to a thriller

Leave a Reply

