Global Reading Challenge ~ Country # 78) India

Q & AI chose to read Q & A, by Vikas Swarup as my selection for India & I was not disappointed. Even though there was a lot of publicity surrounding the book because of the movie & the subsequent awards it won, this was not what made me want to read this book, if anything, all that hype sort of put me off.

I have to admit that I went into reading this expecting to come out of it feeling really let down & wondering what all the hype had been about, but that is so not what happened! Q & A is a very easy book to read, it flows well & the text is well written, so it makes it easy to get lost in the book itself, allowing you to suspend reality long enough to really enjoy what you are reading. It is most definitely a fantastical book & you do need to suspend your sense of reality (or at least I felt that I had to), otherwise it all just seemed too much. Don’t get me wrong, this was a great book & I am really glad that I read it, but it was definitely a case of “seriously, how could all of that happen to one person?”.

I Haven’t really met anyone else who has read this, but I do know a lot of people on a forum who have read it & they all loved it, too. Sometimes I find that books that everyone hypes up are just that – hype which makes me reluctant to read them. This was definitely not the case with Q&A. If there are any of you out there in cyberland who have no idea what this book is about, it is about this:

Ram Mohammed Thomas is an Indian living in the slums of Mumbai when he enters & is chosen to be on a tv show : W3B – Who Will Win a Billion? (like Who wants to be a millionaire?). Ram wins the show & then is arrested for winning, for cheating. The story follows the order of the questions that Ram was asked in order to win the Billion Rupees & it is through the “stories” attached to these questions that we see just how a Slumdog becomes a Billionaire.

**Up to this point all of the book covers on my blogs have matched the books I own, but I can not seem to find a picture which matches the book I own. This may change & if it does, the above picture will change. Just thought I’d let y’all know.

Leave a comment

Filed under Global reading challenge

Leave a Reply

