My Best Friend's Girl by Dorothy Koomson

My Best Friend’s Girl was loaned to me by one of the ladies from work (Linda). She loved it & thought it might be a book I would enjoy. Now, as perviously stated, Chick lit is not my prefered genre, but it is something I enjoy reading – especially if I’m in a bit of a reading funk. When I saw the cover of this book I knew it was one I’d previously picked up to read, but was very sure I had put back each time. Turns out I was wrong. I had read this book – or at least I had read most of this book. There were parts I remembered almost word for word, but then there were big surprises, parts that I had no idea were coming.

My Best Friend’s Girl follows the life of Kamryn Matika & the path she is forced to take after finding out that her best friend, Adele, is dying of Leukemia & needs Kamryn to take care of her 5-year-old daughter, Tegan. This book is a rollercoaster of emotion, & is a very good read, but it definitely had its flaws.

Such as: Early in we find out Adele has had to leave Tegan with her abusive grandparents while she is in hospital. Kamryn goes to visit Tegan at said grandparents’ house & discovers that Tegan is being abused by them. Kamryn does the right thing in getting Tegan out of the situation, but then she does nothing to help Tegan – no therapy, no talking to her to assure her that she is safe, no calling the authorities – NOTHING.

Ok, so moving on……….this is a good book, but there are parts of it that drove me absolutely insane. I wanted to grab Kamryn by the throat a few times & give her a bloody good shake! (oh wait, Kamryn isn’t real, lol) By the same token, there are parts I loved, that made me smile, chuckle or even laugh out loud. I think that Tegan is the best character in My Best Friend’s Girl, closely followed by Luke-the-hunky-new-boyfriend & the relationship they develop is precious. I found Kamryn less likable & at times rather annoying & pretty hard to relate to, which for me let the book down.

Don’t get me wrong, the idea behind this story is great & most of the book was really well done. The story between Kamryn, Tegan & Luke is sweet & I loved how Kamryn dealt with all the things that were slung her way, but this book could have been soooo much better.

Overall, if I did ratings, I would rate this one a 6 out of 10 & one I would recommend others read.

PS: Thanks Linda for loaning it to me!

1 Comment

Filed under Relaxing reading

One response to “My Best Friend's Girl by Dorothy Koomson

  1. Linda

    Am glad you enjoyed the book and trust you will enjoy her latest novel that I have loaned you “Ice Cream Girls” and look forward to your comments. Have also read Marshmallows for Breakfast and Cupid Effect by Dorothy Koomson but was disappointed so would not recommend these books as a good read as they were just average and put “downable”.

Leave a Reply

