Do you remember all of the books you have read?

So, as I have previously mentioned, I am a member of LibraryThing, where I have been trying to keep a record of all of the books I have read. It’s a pretty labourious task & today I treated myself to something to make that task a little easier!

If you’re wondering what it is, it’s a CueCat, a barcode scanner for books! If you’ve never used LibraryThing, it’s like an electronic LIbrary & for someone like me (someone who never keeps her books), this is a great way to record (& rate) what you have read. The only problem is that it’s a bit time consuming! I like to keep all my books until I have them loaded onto LibraryThing, which I have not been doing for a while, so I have well over 100 books which need to be added. Manually entering all those ISBN numbers is a pain in the butt! Luckily, LibraryThing sell the CueCats at a really decent price & I have been eyeing it for a while & today decided – what the heck! So, now I am eagerly awaiting the afternoon that the Postie arrives with my CueCat so I can tackle that backlog of books!!

4 Comments

Filed under postaweek2011, Relaxing reading

4 responses to “Do you remember all of the books you have read?

  1. livingwithjoy

    Great idea!

    I keep a running list of all the books I’ve read (good and bad) during the year down the side of my blog. Then, at the end of the year I copy and paste them into a blog post and put it in the ‘books’ category. Not quite as neat as yours, but it has been fun to go back over what I’ve read.

  2. Ah yes!! I remember joining that and I sat there for an afternoon trying to enter all the ISBN numbers of all few hundred of my books.. that took SO much longer than I realized it would take.. I think I ran out of space or something like that? (there’s a max # of books you can enter, isn’t there?)

    I actually keep track of all the books I read manually. It started as a bet with an ex boyfriend, to see who could read the most books in a year, and for 7 years now I’ve been keeping a record of what I’ve read on a piece of paper (one sheet per year) 🙂

    • There is a limit if you have a basic membership, but I have a lifetime membership, which was a one-off membership payment of $25.oo USD, which in ÂŁ’s wasabout ÂŁ15.00, so now I have unlimited storage!

  3. I need one of those. I always forget to keep a list of books I read (and own) so I end up buying multiple copies.

Leave a Reply

