Tuesday's Child by Louise Bagshawe

A couple of days ago I read on one of my blog buddy’s blog a post about a post she had read on a friend of her’s blog, basically about book snobbery (phew, did I lose you yet? Read her post, maybe then you’ll understand)… Anyway, the gist is that people wouldn’t blog about or post lists about trashy novels they read/have read. Well, I don’t read trashy books…..although I am positive that a certain Welshman I know would scream & shout & say that yes I do, but he is wrong. I think that there is nothing better than a bit of Chick lit every once in a while – sometimes I just really need a break from all that murder, mayhem & mystery in my normal reading. I blog about all the books I read (even some I haven’t finished reading), and I definitely do not consider myself a book snob.

Yesterday I had to get up at the crack of dawn (ie: 4:30am) to travel to London for CONFEX, for work. I had the dubious pleasure of sitting on an over crowded Nottingham-London train for 2 hours, fighting exhaustion in my pursuit of being a great employee (seriously!) & one of the last things I did, before fleeing my warm house for the cold taxi, was grab a book off the shelf. The one I grabbed was Tuesday’s Child by Louise Bagshawe. I started reading as soon as I got on the train & didn’t stop until I arrived at St. Pancras, then read again once I got on the Piccadilly line to Earls Court.

After 6 & 1/2 hours on my feet I crawled back to the tube, then train, for the return journey home. On the train – you guessed it! – more reading. By the time I arrived back home I was more than 3/4 of the way through the book & I was loving it! I continued to read over my chicken fried rice with sweet & sour sauce & managed to finish it before bed (more importantly, I managed to stay awake!!)

I had never read a book written by Bagshawe before & I really loved this one. Not really sure why, though. The writing was ok, the characters were….well, completely unbelievable & so 1-dimensional & not very likable. The plot was predictable, there were points where I just couldn’t see how Lucy didn’t see what was happening, it was so in-your-face obvious.

I have read some of the reviews on Amazon & the ones that gave it a 1 or 2 star rating weren’t wrong, it was a terrible book, but I LOVED IT!!!

Why?

Not sure, but I’m going to try & not analyze it too much – might detract from my love of this book, lol!


1 Comment

Filed under Relaxing reading

One response to “Tuesday's Child by Louise Bagshawe

  1. livingwithjoy

    That’s cool – I was passing through St. Pancras on Wednesday as well. And I too ended up with a mega commute (shouldn’t have been, but buses and trains conspired against me) and was thankful for a good book. Three Junes by Julia Glass. Almost done!

Leave a Reply

