Breakfast at Tiffany's by Truman Capote

I’ve never seen the movie Breakfast at Tiffany’s, and never really had much of a desire to. The version of the book that I bought was part of the Penguin Books leather bound collection. They were originally retailing for £50.00 each, but almost 2 years ago I came across the entire set in The Works for £5.99 each. It just seemed wrong to pass them up! I bought the entire set, but have not read any of them, until now.

I went into reading Breakfast at Tiffany’s knowing nothing other than it had been made into a movie starring Audrey Hepburn & that Deep Blue Something had a great song by the same title. Honestly, that was all I knew about it. Well, if you’ve read it you know that it is little more than a short story & mine was a collection of this & 3 other stories by Truman Capote. (No idea if these are the 3 other stories which were originally published with Breakfast at Tiffany’s, though)

It is said that Capote based the character of Holly on several different women, including Gloria Vanderbilt, Oona Chaplin, and Carol Grace (Walter Matthau’s wife). Apparently there are also many similarities between the lives of Holly and Capote’s mother, Nina Capote; among other shared attributes both women were born in the rural south with similar “hick” birth names that they changed (Holly Golightly was born Lula Mae Barnes in Texas, Nina Capote was born Lillie Mae Faulk in Alabama). Both left the husbands they married as teenagers and abandoned relatives they loved and were responsible for in order to make their way to New York City, and both achieved Cafe Society status through relationships with wealthier men, though Capote’s mother was born two decades earlier than the fictional Holly Golightly.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s was a very easy read & I found it mildly amusing, but the more I think about it, the less I like it, to be honest. I’m not sure how anyone could like the character Holly Golightly. A fake woman, if ever there was one. She uses men as her sole means of employment, and behaves like a spoiled child. She’s everything I can’t imagine a woman wanting to be – if that makes any sense. I fear had this been true life, I would have been exactly like Madame Spanella, always feeling cross about Holly & her antics, shouting at her to keep the noise down & circulating petitions to have Miss Golightly evicted!

1 Comment

Filed under postaweek2011, Relaxing reading

One response to “Breakfast at Tiffany's by Truman Capote

  1. Well, at least it was short!

    I got a copy for free with The Times and it’s been on my shelf ever since. I keep meaning to read, but maybe I’ll skip it.

Leave a Reply

