Stone Cold by David Baldacci

Stone Cold is the 1st David Baldacci book that I have read & I loved it, but after the fact (when I started reading my next book, which was also written by Baldacci) I discovered that it is part of the series & that I had just read the 3rd book in the series. I try to avoid doing this at all cost, but this time I just grabbed a book off my shelf & plowed straight in. Silly me! The books of the Camel Club series (just so you don’t make the same mistake I do), are: The Camel Club, The Collectors, Stone Cold, Divine Justice & Hell’s Corner (which came out over here on New Year’s Eve in hard cover).

You don’t need to have read any of the other books in the series to enjoy this one – it could definitely work as a stand alone novel, but whatever you do, do not read this one before you read The Collectors (otherwise you will already know the plot & outcome of The Collectors).

Stone Cold sees us following Harry Finn, whose job it is to test the security systems of companies after 9/11. You name it, Harry Finn has done it, all in the attempt to make security better, showing companies where they are failing. All of this is a sideline to what Harry really does, though. And what Harry really does is Murder. Back with the members of the Camel Club, picking up where The Collectors left off, Oliver and the other members of the Camel  Club are helping Annabelle pick up the pieces of her con & attempting to protect her from certain death. All this while Oliver’s past comes back to haunt him – and the team.

Stone Cold is very Jason Bourne, if you know what I mean. I have read a few reviews where people have panned this book as a disappointment by Baldacci, but I thought it was a great book. It flowed well and was fast paced & kept me hooked right to the end – which is saying a lot! I liked the way that it tied into the earlier book, without seeming like a complete re-capping of The Collectors. I think the character of Oliver Stone is a brilliant creation & I really look forward to reading the next installment in this series. What I don’t understand is why Hollywood hasn’t snatched this series up – it’s got movies written all over it!

Leave a comment

Filed under postaweek2011, Relaxing reading

Leave a Reply

