House of Silence by Linda Gillard

Ok, so I caved & bought House of Silence to read on my laptop…..then spent the entire time wishing it was possible to print it myself, as reading it off the computer just drove me crazy! I downloaded it on April 3rd & only finished it today – because it got to the point where I had to force myself to read it. I appreciate that this is different from reading it on a Kindle, but I don’t own a Kindle & have no intentions of buying one for myself any time soon. I am very happy that Linda was able to get this book out to her eager readers & I do think that publishers are idiots for not publishing her books, but Kindle for computer is definitely not for me.

House of Silence has had some rave reviews on other blogs & on Amazon, but I am afraid that this is not going to be one of those. I loved Linda’s other books (for those of you who have not read them, they are: Emotional Geology, Star Gazing & A Lifetime Burning), but I was left feeling somewhat ambivelant about this one. Don’t get me wrong – there is nothing overtly wrong with House of Silence, I just thought that it wasn’t as good as the previous offerings from Linda. It is a good book, but it isn’t one that is going to stay with me, which the previous three (for various reasons), did.

House of Silence centres on the stories of Gwen & Alfie. Gwen is a wardrobe mistress & Alfie an actor. They meet on the set of a period drama & become a couple. When Christmas comes Gwen convinces Alfie to take her to Creake Hall, his family’s country estate in Norfolk, so she can experience a “family Christmas”.  On the drive from London to Norfolk Alfie regales Gwen with horror stories of his crazy family, in the hopes of getting her used to the idea that family is not all it’s cracked up to be. On arrival at Creake Hall we are introduced to Hattie, Alfie’s sister closest in age to him (and my favourite character), and Viv, Alfie’s eldest sister. Very quickly Gwen begins to question the relationships (or lack of) of Alfie & his siblings. Things are not as they seem, but she can’t quite put her finger on what’s not quite right. This nagging sense of something being off kilter leads Gwen to question everything she sees and everything she believes she knows about Alfie & his family – with some devastating concequences!

All-in-all, House of Silence is a decent book, one I would recommend. But as I said, Linda’s earlier offerings were far superior! (Sorry Linda!!!)

1 Comment

Filed under postaweek2011, Relaxing reading

One response to “House of Silence by Linda Gillard

  1. Pingback: House of Silence – Linda Gillard « The Bookworm Chronicles

Leave a Reply

