Books to movies

I thought I had already written a post about books made into movies, but a search of my posts tells me no.

Every year, some outstanding books are made into movies & the results are often very mixed. I have to admit that there have been very few movies made from books that have left me preferring the movie, but there have been a few. Such as:

But, more often than not, the book is so much better than the movie ever could hope to be. There have been some real stinkers – like Lawnmower man, the Stephen King short story. It was a great short story, but really should have been left as that. The “movie” bore absolutely no resemblance to the story it was supposedly based on. Another one was The Shining – also another Stephen King book. I know most people love love love Jack Nicholson & I will agree that he’s great in his later movies, but I hated him in The Shining & thought the movie was laughable. Memoirs of a Geisha is another one. Excellent book – dreadful boring movie.

Usually, the reason for the preference of the book to the movie (at least in my case) is that I have read the book first & the movies so rarely live up to what I see in my head, in my imagination. When I was in high school one of my favourite books was Shoeless Joe Comes to Iowa, by W. P. Kinsella. It was probably the first book that I read & just couldn’t put down until I’d finished it. I’ve seen A Field of Dreams – I saw it when it first came out & I loved it. It was one of those very rare movies that I loved as much as the book. Until the other day. It was on tv a couple of weeks ago & we taped it, so I could watch it later. Well, I watched it & now I’m not so sure. It just wasn’t as good as I remember & it sure doesn’t live up to what I remember the book to be.

Maybe Hollywood should leave books alone & come up with something else to ruin!

3 Comments

Filed under Relaxing reading

3 responses to “Books to movies

  1. livingwithjoy

    We’re definitely in agreement on this one. I hadn’t thought about The Hunt for Red October.

  2. Going in the other direction, I think Children of Men was a much better movie than a book. Having seen the movie and enjoyed it, I tried the book (books are supposed to be better, right?) and couldn’t make it past 50 pages. But I’m glad someone liked it enough to turn it into a movie.

  3. Agreed about The Shining! I can’t remember exactly but I think Stephen King himself wasn’t a fan of the movie.. hence why they made a TV-movie with Stephen Weber later (which was actually decent! I liked that tv movie more than the original)

    Also agreed on The Notebook. I NEVER cry at movies but that one made me bawl… lol

Leave a Reply

