Edge by Jeffery Deaver

I am a Deaverette – as in I love Jeffery Deaver’s books. I devour them. I think Deaver is a genius & there are none better at weaving a suspenseful tale. Now, just because I think Deaver is a god in his genre, I am not adverse to pointing out where I think he has gone badly wrong (like the last couple books he has written – they have been good books, but by Deaver standards were really sub-par).

Just so you know, before you read any further, I need to let you know that this review is going to be a little different from usual, because I am going to give away something about the plot in this review. I normally do my utmost to describe why or what about a book I like, or dislike without revealing anything you couldn’t have go from reading the back of the book. I just know that I have read reviews that have ruined books for me, so I try to avoid doing that. I don’t think I can do that with this book, so if you don’t want to know, don’t read past the spoiler alert tag below. You have been warned.

Deaver’s latest offering (or latest to me, as I am a little behind), Edge, is a brilliant return to Deaveresqueness (ok, I know, not a real word, but it should be!). Deaver is a master of the plot twist – just when you think you have things figured out he goes & proves just how wrong you are, but does it brilliantly. Lately those twists had seemed to be a little too predictable & the endings of his last couple books really ticked me off – they were cop-outs. Something I never thought I would be saying about a Deaver novel.

Well, Edge is, as I said above, a true return to form for Deaver. This book had me gripped right from the very beginning & didn’t let go until the very end. Edge is about Officer Corte, the head shepherd of a government protection unit. He’s brought in to protect the Kessler’s when it is discovered that Henry Loving, a notorious “Lifter” has been hired to extract information from them. (Lifters are very nasty men who are hired to get information from people by any means necessary.) Corte and Loving are old enemies & Corte will do anything in his power to see that Loving is caught, but does that mean jeopardising the safety of the very people he is supposed to protect? Guess you’ll have to read the book to find out!!! And, if I may be so bold, I would like to say that if you are a fan of what I like to call “Murder, Mystery, Mayhem” books, then you MUST read this book!!!

****SPOILER ALERT****

I love the way that Deaver writes this book – the style that he uses & telling us just enough about Corte to keep us interested, but not really giving away anything about Corte the man until at least 3/4 of the way through the book. Deaver did a great job at making it seem like Corte’s family had been destroyed by a stalker. That said, this is about the only thing that I would have changed about Edge. While the bits that Deaver reveals give little away, & are of themselves a bit of a plot twist, I think it would have been better to have given nothing away, to make us continue to believe that Corte is a single man who has no family, then have the same ending as what exists in the book. I just think that the shock of the ending it would have been so much better that way!

 

1 Comment

Filed under postaweek2011, Relaxing reading

One response to “Edge by Jeffery Deaver

  1. livingwithjoy

    Hope this means that stress has eased up a bit and you’ve got some reading time again!

Leave a Reply

