Chic-lit just for girls?

So, the other day I got on the bus (after having had to run for it) & the only seat left on the lower deck was way at the back. I sauntered back & plonked myself into my seat & opened my book (Mystery by Jonathan Kellerman) to start reading. I happened to glance to the right & noticed that the person in the seat diagonal to me was reading as well. They were reading some chic lit book – can’t remember the title now, but I know the cover was a very soft pink & it was something like “House Husband” or something like that.

Then I looked at the person reading said book & had to do a bit of a double take cause it was a guy! Ok, I’m all for equal opportunity & all that, but it was weird seeing a guy reading a book which is clearly marketed to women. Weirder that he was doing it in public! (Listen to me, I’m making it sound like he was involved in some indecent activity instead of just reading a book!). Or, am I the weird one for thinking it weird that a guy would want to read chic lit?

Do you know any guys who read chic lit? I don’t (or at least not that I am aware of). My OH makes fun of me when I read chic lit & I cannot imagine him sitting on the bus with a pink paperback. I just don’t see that happening in this lifetime! Don’t get me wrong, he’s not all “I only read hard man books!” (lol), quite the opposite, he’d likely take the piss out of someone for reading them as well – he’s more into his intellectual snobbery books.

 

1 Comment

Filed under postaweek2011, Relaxing reading

One response to “Chic-lit just for girls?

  1. Hah, that’s kinda funny that you saw a guy reading that! I’m sure it’s not completely out of the ordinary, but I’m definitely surprised to see one (and, like you said, willing to read it in public!) (AND that it was called “House Husband” LOL!!)

Leave a Reply

