Favourite authors, revisited

I often become “attached” to an author & read everything they publish (Jeffery Deaver, Lee Child, Kathy Reichs, Patricia Cornwell – before her books went off the rails, Linda Fairstein, Tess Gerritsen, Ian Rankin), but all of this was started with my love of Jonathan Kellerman’s writing. I’m pretty sure it was my Mom that introduced me to Kellerman & I instantly fell in love with his writing & eagerly awaited every new offering (sometimes for as long as 2 years). He was easily my favourite author. Then, I moved over here to the UK where I knew no one else who read his books & got introduced to other authors who became firm favourites – Child, Reichs & others.

Unfortunately all of these new authors lead to Kellerman being relegated to the literary scrap heap of my reading & the last book of his I had read was Dr. Death way back in 2000 – it was the first (& last) of his books that I would buy over here. His books were difficult to find & all these new authors meant that Kellerman fell further & further off the radar. Too many great books, too little time!!

Over the past couple of years I have started to see Kellerman’s books on the shelves in both the book stores & in the supermarkets & I kept telling myself I should pick them up again to read, but just didn’t. I did miss the books (I loved the characters of Alex Dellaware & Milo Sturgis. They were like old friends in a distant city.  You know they’re there, you never speak to them because life gets in the way, but just know that, should your paths cross again, it would be like no time had passed & you’d be able to pick up just about where you left off last time you saw each other.

So, a couple weeks ago I was in Sainsbury’s looking for new books to read & there, staring me in the face was the latest offering from Kellerman. I hesitated because it’s been 11 years & 12 books in the Dellaware series since I read anything Kellerman had written, so maybe I should just walk away is what I was thinking. I picked up Mystery (said Kellerman book) & read the back of the book, then put it back – too much time had passed & if I was going to start reading Kellerman I really should start with the next book in order, right? Only, I didn’t. I couldn’t. I needed to buy it & read it – so I did. I’ve been reading it every day since (on the bus to & from work) & I am so glad I bought it! It’s like finding that distant best friend again! I’ve slipped into that old familiarity of a long lost friend, so I guess I best head out & buy the ones I’ve missed over the last 11 years!

Leave a comment

Filed under postaweek2011

Leave a Reply

